Global Grandparents Resources

grandparents quote-2

Books

Fry, Patricia, (1997) Creative Grandparenting Across the Miles: Ideas for Sharing Love, Faith and Family Traditions, Liguori Publications: MO, USA https://www.amazon.com/Creative-Grandparenting-Across-Miles-Traditions/dp/0764800469

Gore, W. W. (2008) Long-Distance Grandparenting: Connecting with your Grandchildren from Afar, Quill Driver Books/Word Dancer Press Inc: CA, USA https://www.amazon.com/dp/1884956750/ref=rdr_ext_tmb

Gosling, P. and Huscroft, A. (2009) How to be a Global Grandparent: Living with the Separation, Zodiac Publishing:UK https://www.amazon.com/dp/1904566847/

Wassermann, S. (2010) Grandparenting at Long Distance : Connecting with grandchildren Across the Miles, Brush Education: Alberta, Canada https://www.amazon.com/Grandparenting-Long-Distance-Connecting-Grandchildren/dp/1550593900

Online

Articles

Grandparenting from a Distance: 20 Activities for Grandparents to do with Their Grandchildren http://www.fambooks.com/activities.html

When Kids Move Abroad: The Grandparent’s Guide to Location proof Love and Laughter http://www.theexpatlifeline.com/international-messaging-move-abroad-expat-grandparents-guide-to-location-proof-love/

The Overseas Grandparent – multiple articles https://amsterdam-mamas.nl/stories-tag/overseas-grandparent

The Long-Distance Grandparent Survival Guide https://www.grandparents.com/grandkids/long-distance-grandparents/long-distance-grandparent-guide-barbara-graham

The Family Left Behind http://expatchild.com/grandparents-expats-family-left-behind/

How Do you Maintain Relationships with Your Loved Ones Whilst Living Abroad?https://globallygrounded.com/2016/05/09/how-do-you-maintain-relationships-with-your-loved-ones-whilst-living-abroad/

Long-Distance Grandparenting: 3 part series https://www.kimturnermcculley.com/long-distance-grandparenting/

Long-Distance Date with Grandma https://howdoesshe.com/long-distance-date-with-grandma/

Top 10 Tips for Long Distance Grandparenting https://www.gransnet.com/grandparenting/tips/long-distance-grandparenting

Connecting with Grandchildren Far Away http://rediscoveredfamilies.com/connecting-with-grandchildren-far-away/

Tools for building relationship

Webchat Platforms (age 13+)

Skype

FaceTime

WhatsApp

Google Hangouts

Instagram

Snapchat

Collaboration apps/websites

BattleShips –  yes that age old game https://battleship-game.org/en/id21396072

Draw Something – share your drawings https://www.zynga.com/games/draw-something

Keepy– share artwork, schoolwork, momentos https://keepy.me

Kindoma– allows for users to read stories while video chatting http://kindoma.com

Meet Mobile (if you have a swimmer in your family) https://www.active.com/mobile/meet-mobile-app

Minecraft– a ‘sandbox’ game situated on a virtual land where users can create their own worlds and experiences, using building blocks, resources discovered on the site and their own creativity.  https://minecraft.net/en-us/

Moment Garden– create and privately share precious moments https://momentgarden.com

Scoot & Doodle– collaborate on drawing/artwork together http://scootdoodle.com

Storybird.com– write your family stories & share traditions using their images https://storybird.com

Touchnote– keep in touch with fun photo postcards https://www.touchnote.com

Tweekaboo– save precious moments and share with family far away https://www.tweekaboo.com

Words with Friends– multiplayer word game https://www.zynga.com/games/words-with-friends-2

Disclaimer: This list is for your general information and use only. Information is subject to change without notice.The age appropriateness of these resources is variable as is the pricing. The opinions expressed in these resources do not necessarily reflect the positions or policies of Globally Grounded. Please use your discretion when exploring these resources.

“Grandchildren are the dots that connect the lines from generation to generation.”

Lois Wyse

 

Advertisements